Skip to main content

Nominees for the North American Agrivoltaics Awards Announced! Cast Your Vote!

By: PRLog

The first class of finalists for the North American Agrivoltaics Awards are up for public vote to help determine the most outstanding achievements in dual-use solar development so far.

CHICAGO - May 28, 2024 - PRLog -- The Solar Farm Summit (SFS24), North America's Agrivoltaics Expo returning to Rosemont, IL July 8-10, 2024, recently revealed finalists in eight categories for the inaugural North American Agrivoltaics Awards (NAAA) to recognize, elevate and celebrate outstanding achievements in the advancement of dual-use solar development across the continent. Finalists were selected for each category following a period of open nominations from a large pool of extremely strong submissions, with each finalist shining as an exceptional example of achievement in their own right.

With hundreds of votes already cast, the public is now engaged in an international campaign to select the first class of NAAA winners recognizing leadership, excellence, and innovation for awards across multiple categories including: Farmer, Rancher, Eco-Steward and Champion.

Solar Farmer of the Year finalists include:

  • Joe Czajkowski, Owner/Farmer at Czajkowski Farm in Massachusetts.
  • Meg Caley & Liza McConnell, Co-Founder and Executive Director and Jack's Solar Research Farm Director, respectively, Sprout City Farms in Colorado.
  • Paul Knowlton, Farmer and Landowner at Knowlton Farms in Massachusetts.
  • Juli Burden, Agrivoltaic Systems Lead at Hawaii Agriculture Research Center in Hawaii.
  • Chad Higgins, Associate Professor at Oregon State University in Oregon.
Solar Rancher of the Year finalists include:
  • Will Harris, Owner/Operator at White Oak Pastures in Georgia.
  • Lexie Hain, Director of Agrivoltaics and Land Management at Lightsource bp in New York.
  • Jess & Marcus Gray, Founders and Owner/Operators of Gray's LAMBscaping, LLC in Virginia.
  • Caleb Scott, Founder of United Agrivoltaic North America in New York.
  • Lyndsey Smith & Chris Moore, Founders and Owner/Operators of Shady Creek Lamb Co in Ottawa Valley, Canada.
Solar Eco-Steward of the Year finalists include:
  • Mike Kiernan, Founder and Native Beekeeper of Bee the Change in Vermont.
  • Robin Ernst, Founder and President of Monarch Vegetation Services, Inc in Pennsylvania.
  • Brian Ross, Vice President of Renewable Energy at Great Plains Institute in Minnesota.
  • Rob Davis, Communications Lead at Connexus Energy in Minnesota.
Finalists for Agrivoltaics Champion of the Year include:
  • Angela "Angie" Burke, Director of O&M at Pivot Energy in Colorado.
  • Iain Ward, Founder and CEO of Solar Agricultural Services, Inc in Massachusetts.
  • Byron Kominek, Owner of Jack's Solar Garden, Executive Director of the Colorado Agrivoltaic Learning Center in Colorado.
  • Greg Barron-Gafford, Professor & Associate Director of the School Garden Workshop at the University of Arizona in Arizona.
Full people and project profiles, as well as finalists in project and planned project categories, are available on the NAAA website:

Join an esteemed assembly of the very best in agrivoltaic and ecovoltaic development the evening of July 8 in Chicago, opening night of the 2024 Solar Farm Summit, to honor the incredible achievements of NAAA24's exceptional class of nominees, and to celebrate the transformative impact of dual-use solar development.

Tickets to attend the NAAA ceremony are available on Eventbrite:

Learn more and cast your vote on the North American Agrivoltaics Awards website:

Photos: (Click photo to enlarge)

Solar Farm Summit Logo North American Agrivoltaics Awards July 8, 2024

Source: Solar Farm Summit LLC

Read Full Story - Nominees for the North American Agrivoltaics Awards Announced! Cast Your Vote! | More news from this source

Press release distribution by PRLog
Data & News supplied by
Stock quotes supplied by Barchart
Quotes delayed at least 20 minutes.
By accessing this page, you agree to the following
Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.